NEWS

GET IN TOUCH

Beside Zayed University,
Zayed City,
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Tel : 00971 2 635 9999

Seven Emirates

The United Arab Emirates is comprised of seven emirates, which occupy the southeastern corner of the Arabian Peninsula. Each emirate, unique and rich in tradition, is an essential component necessary for making up the whole.

Abu Dhabi (Capital)

Abu Dhabi, by far the largest emirate, is ruled by the Al Nahyan family. It occupies 67,340 square  kilometers or 86.7% of the total area of the country. The emirate is primarily a vast desert area with about two dozen islands in the coastal waters, including the island where the city of Abu Dhabi is located, plus six sizeable islands further out in the Arabian Gulf. The population of the emirate is concentrated in three areas: the capital city, Abu Dhabi; Al Ain, an oasis city located to eastern part of Abu Dhabi; and the villages of the Liwa oases.

Traditionally, the population along the coast relied on fishing and pearling for their livelihood, whilst those in the hinterland relied on date plantations and camel herding. Through remarkable leadership and personal commitment, His Highness Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan developed Abu Dhabi into an influential, fully modernised state. Upon Sheikh Zayed's death in November 2004, Sheikh Khalifa bin Zayed Al Nahyan became UAE President and Ruler of Abu Dhabi.

DUBAI

Dubai, the second largest of the seven emirates, is ruled by the Al Maktoum family. It occupies an area of approximately 3,900 kilometres, which includes a small enclave called Hatta, situated close to Oman; Dubai is located along the creek, a natural harbour, which traditionally provided the basis of the trading industry. Pearling and fishing were the main sources of income for the people of Dubai. Under the wise leadership of its rulers, Dubai's focus on trade and industry transformed it into the leading trading port along the southern Gulf. His Highness Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum is the current ruler of Dubai.

SHARJAH

 

Sharjah, which shares its southern border with Dubai, is ruled by the Al Qasimi family. It is approximately 2,600 square kilometres and is the only emirate to have coastlines on both the Arabian Gulf and the Gulf of Oman. In the nineteenth century the town of Sharjah was the leading port in the lower Gulf. Sharjah's salt mines meant that salt constituted an important part of its export business, along with pearls. In the 1930s when the pearling industry declined and trade decreased due to the creek silting up, Imperial Airways' flying boats set up a staging post for flights en route to India, which benefited the residents of Sharjah. Today, under the leadership of Sheikh Sultan bin Mohammed Al Qasimi, Sharjah is the cultural and educational centre of the UAE and takes pride in preserving the country's cultural heritage as well as promoting Arab culture and traditions.

AJMAN

 

Ajman is the smallest emirate, comprising only 260 square kilometres. It is ruled by the Al Nuami family. Surrounded mostly by the emirate of Sharjah, Ajman also possesses the small enclaves of Manama and Musfut. Along the creek dhow building was the specialised trade. Fishing and date-trees provided the local population with their primary means of sustenance. Sheikh Humaid bin Rashid Al Nuami has been the ruler since 1981.

UMM AL QAIWAIN

 

Umm Al Qaiwain is ruled by the Al Mualla family. It is the second smallest emirate, with a total area of around 770 square kilometres. Positioned between the emirates of Sharjah and Ajman to the south and Ras Al Khaimah to the north, Umm Al Qaiwain has the smallest population. Fishing is the local population's primary means of income. Date farming also plays a significant role in the economy. After the union of the emirates in 1971 Umm Al Qaiwain developed into a modern state, and continues to progress under its present ruler, Sheikh Suood bin Rashid bin Ahmed Al Mualla.

RAS AL KHAIMAH

 

Ras Al Khaimah, the most northerly emirate, is ruled by another branch of the Al Qasimi family. It covers an area of 1,700 square kilometres. Ras Al Khaimah has a unique abundance of flora, so it is no surprise that agriculture is important to the local economy. The emirate also benefits from its stone quarries, and fishing, which is plentiful in the rich waters of the Gulf. The city of Ras Al Khaimah, was renowned for its prosperous port and for its exquisite pearls, which were famous as being the whitest and roundest available anywhere. Ras Al Khaimah's current ruler is Sheikh Suood bin Saqr bin Mohammed Al Qasimi.

FUJAIRAH

 

The only emirate without a coastline on the Arabian Gulf is Fujairah, which is ruled by the Al Sharqi family. Situated along the coast of the Gulf of Oman, Fujairah covers about 1,300 square kilometres. Unlike other emirates, where the desert forms a large part of the terrain, mountains and plains are its predominant features. Fujairah's economy is based on fishing and agriculture. Like Ras Al Khaimah, the land in Fujairah is irrigated by rainwater, making it ideal for farming. Sheikh Hamad bin Mohammed Al Sharqi is the present ruler.

الأخبار

للتواصل

بجانب جامعة زايد ,مدينة زايد
أبوظبي ، الامارات العربية المتحدة
صندوق بريد 3320, أبو ظبي, الامارات العربية المتحدة
هاتف : 0097126359999

الإمارات السبع

تتألف دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة من سبع إمارات تقع في جنوب شرق الجزيرة العربية، وتنبع خصوصية كل إمارة من تاريخها الحافل وتراثها الغني، حيث تعتبر كل واحدة منها بميزاتها الفريدة جزء لا يتجزأ من الكيان الواحد المتكامل للبلاد.

(أبوظبي (العاصمة

  تعدُّ إمارة أبوظبي ، التي تحكمها عائلة آل نهيان، الإمارة الأكبر مساحة، حيث تبلغ مساحتها 67,340 كيلومتراً مربعاً أي ما يشكل 86,7% من إجمالي مساحة الدولة. وغالبية الإمارة منطقة صحراوية، ويتبع لها أربع وعشرون جزيرة في المياه الساحلية بما فيها الجزيرة التي تقع عليها مدينة أبوظبي، بالإضافة إلى ست جزر كبيرة تقع بعيداً في الخليج العربي. ويتركز سكان الإمارة في ثلاث مناطق: مدينة أبوظبي العاصمة، ومدينة العين وهي واحة تقع في الجزء الشرقي من أبوظبي، والقرى الموجودة في واحة ليوا.ا

ولقد كان سكان الساحل يعتمدون في معيشتهم على صيد السمك ومغاص اللؤلؤ. أما بالنسبة للذين يقطنون في المناطق الداخلية فكانوا يعتمدون في معيشتهم على زراعة النخيل وتربية الإبل. وفي ظل القيادة الحكيمة لصاحب السمو الشيخ زايد بن سلطان آل نهيان ومن خلال التزامه ووفائه وجهود سموه الشخصية فقد تطورت إمارة أبوظبي لتصبح إمارة حديثة وبارزة وذات نفوذ في العالم. وبعد رحيل الشيخ زايد في نوفمبر/تشرين الثاني عام 2004، أصبح صاحب السمو الشيخ خليفة بن زايد آل نهيان رئيساً لدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة وحاكم أبوظبي.ظبي

دبي

تعد إمارة دبي، التي تحكمها عائلة آل مكتوم، الإمارة الثانية من حيث المساحة، إذ تقدر مساحتها بـ 3,900 كيلومتراً مربعاً، وتتبع لإمارة دبي منطقة حتا المنفصلة عن باقي الإمارة والتي تقع على حدود سلطنة عمان، وتمتد دبي على جانبي الخور، الذي كان يشكل ميناء طبيعيا للمنطقة مما أدى إلى بروز دبي كمركز للتجارة، وكان صيد السمك ومغاص اللؤلؤ هي مصادر الدخل الرئيسية لسكان دبي، ونظراً لبعد النظر والسياسة الحكيمة اللذين تحلى بهما حكام دبي، وبخاصة الحاكم الحالي صاحب السمو الشيخ محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم، انتقلت دبي إلى موقع الريادة كمركز تجاري رئيسي في منطقة جنوب شرق الخليج.الخليج

الشارقة

تبلغ مساحة إمارة الشارقة والتي تحكمها عائلة القاسمي، والتي تشترك بحدودها الجنوبية مع إمارة دبي، حوالي 2,600 كيلومتراً مربعاً، وهي الإمارة الوحيدة التي تمتاز بشواطئ على جانبيها من جهة ساحل الخليج العربي وخليج عمان. وكانت الشارقة الميناء الرئيسي للتجارة في جنوب الخليج العربي في القرن التاسع عشر. ولقد انتشرت معامل الملح في الإمارة، إذ كان الملح من الصادرات الأساسية، إلى جانب اللؤلؤ. ومع تراجع صناعة اللؤلؤ وحركة التجارة في الثلاثينيات من القرن الماضي بسبب زيادة كميات الطمي في الخور اتخذت الطائرات المائية التابعة للخطوط الجوية الإمبراطورية إمارة الشارقة مركز تجمع لها في طريق طيرانها إلى الهند، الأمر الذي عاد بالفائدة على سكان الإمارة. واليوم، وتحت القيادة الحكيمة لصاحب السمو الشيخ سلطان بن محمد القاسمي، أصبحت إمارة الشارقة هي المركز الثقافي والتعليمي بدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، فتفتخر بحفاظها على التراث الثقافي للدولة وتعزيزها للثقافة والتقاليد العربية.العربية

 

عجمان

إن إمارة عجمان هي الإمارة الأصغر من حيث المساحة، تبلغ مساحتها فقط 260 كيلومتراً مربعاً، وتحكمها عائلة النعيمي، وتحيط بها بالمقام الأول إمارة الشارقة، وتتبع لإمارة عجمان أراضي المنامة ومصفوت المنفصلة عن باقي أراضي الإمارة. شاعت صناعة الدهو في المناطق الساحلية للإمارة، كما وفر صيد السمك ونخيل التمر للسكان المحليين رزقهم الأساسي. وكغيرها من الإمارات، استفادت عجمان من الاتحاد، حيث انعكست ملامحه على العمران والنهضة التي أصبحت تعم الإمارة. ويحكم الإمارة صاحب السمو الشيخ حميد بن راشد النعيمي منذ عام 1981.1981

أم القيوين

تتولى عائلة المعلا مقاليد الحكم في إمارة أم القيوين، التي تعتبر ثاني أصغر إمارة من حيث المساحة التي تبلغ حوالي 770 كيلومتراً مربعاً/ وتقع الإمارة بين إمارة عجمان والشارقة إلى الجنوب ورأس الخيمة إلى الشمال، كما تعد إمارة أم القيوين الأصغر من حيث عدد السكان. لقد اعتمد سكان الإمارة على صيد السمك كمصدر الدخل الرئيسي. ولعبت زراعة النخيل أيضاً دوراً مهماً في اقتصاد البلاد. وبعد اتحاد الإمارات في العام 1971 أصبحت أم القيوين دولة ناهضة عمرانياً. وتشهد الإمارة مزيداً من التطور تحت القيادة الحكيمة لصاحب السمو الشيخ سعود بن راشد بن أحمد المعلا.المعلا.

رأس الخيمة

تقع إمارة رأس الخيمة، التي يتولى مقاليد الحكم فيها فرع آخر لعائلة القاسمي، في أقصى الشمال، وتبلغ مساحتها 1700 كيلومتراً مربعاً، وتتميز إمارة رأس الخيمة بثروة نباتية فريدة، ولذا فلا عجب أن يكون القطاع الزراعي مهما للاقتصاد المحلي. وتستفيد الإمارة أيضاً من المحاجر الموجودة فيها ومن صيد السمك الذي يتوافر بكثرة في مياه الخليج. أما مدينة رأس الخيمة فكانت معروفة بمينائها المزدهر ولؤلؤها المتميز، نوعاً وقيمة، والذي اشتهر على مستوى العالم بشدة بياضه وتمام استدارته. والحاكم الحالي لرأس الخيمة هو صاحب السمو الشيخ سعود بن صقر بن محمد القاسمي.القاسمي

الفجيرة

 إن الإمارة الوحيدة التي لا ساحل لها على الخليج العربي هي إمارة الفجيرة، التي تحكمها عائلة الشرقي، فتقع الفجيرة على ساحل خليج عُمان، وتبلغ مساحتها حوالي 1300 كيلومتراً مربعاً، وبعكس بقية الإمارات التي تشكل الصحراء جزءاً كبيراً منها، تعتبر الجبال والسهول هي أهم المعالم البارزة لهذه الإمارة. يقوم اقتصاد الإمارة على صيد السمك والزراعة، وكما هو حال إمارة رأس الخيمة تعتمد الفجيرة في الري أيضاً على مياه الأمطار، الأمر الذي يجعلها مثالية للزراعة. والحاكم الحالي للفجيرة هو صاحب السمو الشيخ حامد بن محمد الشرقي.قي