NEWS

GET IN TOUCH

Beside Zayed University,
Zayed City,
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Tel : 00971 2 635 9999

United Arab Emirates (UAE)

The United Arab Emirates has a long history, it is believed, that the UAE may have played an important role in the migration of early Man out of Africa into Asia. Prior to this, the earliest known human occupation for which there is significant evidence dated from the Neolithic period, 5,500 BC or 7,500 years ago, when the climate was wetter and food resources abundant. Even at this early stage, there is proof of interaction with the outside world, especially with civilizations to the north. These contacts persisted and became wide-ranging, probably motivated by trade in copper, commencing around 3000 BC as the climate became more arid and fortified oasis communities focused on agriculture.

Foreign trade, the recurring motif in the history of this strategic region, seems to have flourished also in later periods, facilitated by domestication of the camel at the end of the second millennium BC. At the same time, the discovery of new irrigation techniques (falaj irrigation) made possible the extensive watering of agricultural areas that resulted in an explosion of settlement in the region.

By the first century AD overland caravan traffic between Syria and cities in southern Iraq, followed by seaborne travel to the important port of Omana (perhaps present-day Umm al-Qaiwain) and hence to India was an alternative to the Red Sea route used by the Romans. Pearls had been exploited in the area for millennia but at this time the trade reached new heights. Seafaring was also a mainstay and major fairs were held at Dibba, bringing merchants from as far afield as China.

The arrival of envoys from the Prophet Muhammad in 630 AD heralded the conversion of the region to Islam. Over many centuries, Julfar became a wealthy port and pearling centre from which great wooden dhows ranged far and wide across the Indian Ocean.

Inland, the arc of villages at Liwa was the focus of economic and social activity for the Bani Yas from before the sixteenth century. But by the early 1790s the town of Abu Dhabi had become such an important pearling centre that the political leader of all the Bani Yas groups, the sheikh of the Al Bu Falah (Al Nahyan family) moved there from the Liwa. Early in the nineteenth century, members of the Al Bu Falasah, a branch of the Bani Yas, settled by the creek in Dubai and established Maktoum rule in that emirate.

The pearling industry thrived in the relative calm at sea during the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, providing both income and employment to the people of the Arabian Gulf coast. Many of the inhabitants were semi-nomadic, pearling in the summer months and tending to their date gardens in the winter. 

The First World War impacted severely on the pearl fishery, but it was the economic depression of the late 1920s and early 1930s, coupled with the Japanese invention of the cultured pearl. The industry eventually faded away just after the Second World War.

Fortunately, oil and the visionary leadership of Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan were on the horizon. Born around 1918 in Abu Dhabi, Sheikh Zayed was the youngest of the four sons of Sheikh Sultan, Ruler of Abu Dhabi from 1922 to 1926. As Sheikh Zayed grew to manhood, he travelled widely throughout the country, gaining a deep understanding of the land and of its people. In the early 1930s, when oil company teams arrived to undertake preliminary geological surveys, he obtained his first exposure to the industry that was to make possible the development of today.

In 1946, Sheikh Zayed was chosen as Ruler’s Representative in Abu Dhabi's Eastern Region, centered on Al Ain, 160 kilometres east of the island of Abu Dhabi. He brought to his new task a firm belief in the values of consultation and consensus and his judgements ‘were distinguished by their acute insights, wisdom and fairness’.

The first cargo of crude oil was exported from Abu Dhabi in 1962. On 6 August 1966, Sheikh Zayed succeeded his elder brother as Ruler of Abu Dhabi. He promptly increased contributions to the Trucial States Development Fund and with revenues growing as oil production increased, Sheikh Zayed undertook a massive construction programme, building schools, housing, hospitals and roads.

When Dubai’s oil exports commenced in 1969, Sheikh Rashid bin Saeed Al Maktoum, de facto Ruler of Dubai since 1939, was also able to use oil revenues to improve the quality of life of his people.

Federation

At the beginning of 1968, when the British announced their intention of withdrawing from the Arabian Gulf by the end of 1971, Sheikh Zayed acted rapidly to initiate moves towards establishing closer ties between the emirates. Along with Sheikh Rashid, who was to become Vice President and, later, Prime Minister of the newly formed state, Sheikh Zayed took the lead in calling for a federation that would include not only the seven emirates that together made up the Trucial States, but also Qatar and Bahrain.

Following a period of negotiation, however, agreement was reached between the rulers of six of the emirates (Abu Dhabi, Dubai, Sharjah, Fujairah, Umm al-Qaiwain and Ajman) and the federation to be known as the United Arab Emirates (UAE) was formally established on 2 December 1971 with Sheikh Zayed as its President. The seventh emirate, Ra’s al-Khaimah, formally acceded to the new federation on 10 February 1972. Sheikh Zayed was successively re-elected as President at five-year intervals until his death 33 years later in November 2004.

Sheikh Zayed was succeeded as the UAE's President and as Ruler of Abu Dhabi by his eldest son, H.H. Sheikh Khalifa bin Zayed Al Nahyan in 2004. The principles and philosophy that he brought to government, however, remain at the core of the state, and of its policies, today. H.H. Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Ruler of Dubai, was chosen as Vice President of the Federation following the death of his brother Sheikh Maktoum in 2006.

Geographical location : United Arab Emirates (UAE) is situated along the south-eastern tip of the Arabian Peninsula between 22°50′ and 26° north latitude and between 51° and 56°25′ east longitude. Qatar lies to the north-west, Saudi Arabia to the west, south and south-east and Oman to the south-east and north-east. Occupying a total area of about 83,600 sq.km. (32,400 sq. miles) roughly the size of Portugal, the UAE has 700 km. of coastline, 600 km. along the Arabian Gulf and 100 km. bordering the Gulf of Oman.

The United Arab Emirates comprises of seven Emirates:

  • Abu Dhabi
  • Dubai
  • Sharjah
  • Ajman
  • Umm al-Qaiwain
  • Ras Al Khaimah
  • Fujairah

 

The UAE, since its establishment, has witnessed a remarkable and swift economic development which is very difficult to attain even in the most developed communities. It has rapidly maximized the benefits obtained through its immense oil proceeds to cater for the basic requirements of its society.

Few would have believed that the UAE’s efforts to develop a tourism industry would have been successful in such a short space of time.

Those who knew what the UAE really had to offer visitors have been less surprised by the country’s meteoric rise in the tourism field. Tourism has, in fact, proved itself to be a sustainable industry with long term growth potential.

Investment in infrastructure in the form of airports, hotels and other facilities has meant that visitors to the Emirates are assured of comfortable travel, a warm welcome and top class accommodation. Apart from the natural allure of Arabia underpinned by its history, culture and environment, tourists are now able to take advantage of its warm, sunny weather and to enjoy a wide range of pursuits from camel or horse riding in the desert to deep sea diving.

الأخبار

للتواصل

بجانب جامعة زايد ,مدينة زايد
أبوظبي ، الامارات العربية المتحدة
صندوق بريد 3320, أبو ظبي, الامارات العربية المتحدة
هاتف : 0097126359999

دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة

للإمارات العربية المتحدة تاريخ طويل. يُعتقد بأن الإمارات قد لعبت دوراً مهماً في هجرة البشر الأوائل من أفريقيا إلى آسيا. وقبل هذه الاكتشافات المهمة كانت المستوطنات البشرية المعروفة التي تم العثور على دليل مهم عليها تعود إلى فترة العصر الحجري الحديث في العام 5500 قبل الميلاد أي قبل 7500 عاماً، حينها كان المناخ ممطراً وأكثر رطوبة مع وفرة في الموارد الغذائية. وحتى في تلك المرحلة المبكرة هناك دليل على التفاعل والتواصل مع العالم الخارجي، وعلى وجه الخصوص مع الحضارات التي تقع شمالاً، واستمرت تلك الاتصالات وازدادت اتساعاً، ربما بفضل تجارة النحاس والتي بدأت حوالي 3000 قبل الميلاد، ومع تحول المناخ وتغيره إلى صحراوي قاحل بدأ سكان الواحات في التركيز على الزراعة كمصدر رزق رئيسي.

 

ويبدو أن التجارة الخارجية، التي تعتبر دافعاً أساسياً في تاريخ هذه المنطقة الاستراتيجية، كانت مزدهرة أيضاً في الفترات اللاحقة، وساهم ترويض الإبل في نهاية الألفية الثانية قبل الميلاد في جعلها أكثر يُسراً وسهولة. وفي الوقت نفسه، ساهم اكتشاف تقنيات وسائل الري الحديثة (نظام الري بالأفلاج) في ري المناطق الزراعية على نطاق واسع مما أدى إلى ازدياد حالة الاستقرار والاستيطان في المنطقة.

بحلول القرن الأول الميلادي، أصبحت حركة القوافل البرية بين سوريا والمدن في جنوب العراق، ثم الطريق البحري المؤدي إلى ميناء عُمانا المهم (ربما يكون في أم القيوين الحالية)، ومن ثم إلى الهند بديلاً لطريق البحر الأحمر المستخدم من قبل الرومان. وتم استغلال اللؤلؤ في المنطقة لآلاف السنين، ثم سجلت التجارة ارتفاعاً ملحوظاً، وبات السفر عن طريق البحر أحد الأعمدة الاقتصادية الرئيسية، وأقيمت الأسواق والمعارض الكبرى في دبا، فجذبت التجار من أماكن بعيدة بما في ذلك الصين. 

ويمثل وصول المبعوثين من النبي محمد -صلى الله عليه وسلم- في سنة 630 ميلادية بداية دخول سكان المنطقة في دين الإسلام، وأصبحت جلفار لعدة قرون مركزاً مهماً لصيد اللؤلؤ وميناء غنياً تنطلق منه سفن الدهو الخشبية عبر المحيط الهندي.

وفي المناطق الداخلية شكّل قوس القرى في ليوا مركز الاهتمام الاقتصادي والنشاط الاجتماعي لدى قبيلة بني ياس قبل القرن السادس عشر للميلاد. ولكن في مطلع التسعينات من القرن الثامن عشر أصبحت مدينة أبوظبي مركزاً مهماً للؤلؤ، الأمر الذي أدى إلى قيام زعيم قبيلة بني ياس الشيخ آل بوفلاح (أسرة آل نهيان) بنقل مقر إقامته من ليوا إلى أبوظبي. وفي مطلع القرن التاسع عشر استقر أفراد من آل بوفلاسة، وهي فرع من بني ياس، استقروا قرب الخور في دبي وأسسوا حكم آل مكتوم في تلك الإمارة.

وازدهرت صناعة صيد اللؤلؤ خلال القرن التاسع عشر وأوائل القرن العشرين بعد أن ساد السلام البحر نسبياً، وأصبحت مصدر دخل رئيسياً، ووفّرت فرص العمل لسكان سواحل الخليج العربي. وكان معظم السكان آنذاك شبه بدو، يصطادون اللؤلؤ في أشهر الصيف ويشتغلون بالزراعة ورعاية أشجار النخيل في الشتاء.

إلا أن الحرب العالمية الأولى كان لها تأثيراً سلبياً على صيد اللؤلؤ بالإضافة إلى الكساد الاقتصادي خلال أواخر العشرينات وأوائل الثلاثينات من القرن العشرين الذي تزامن مع اختراع اليابان للؤلؤ الصناعي، وفي نهاية المطاف تلاشت هذه الصناعة تماماً بعد الحرب العالمية الثانية. 

ولكن لحُسن الحظ، كانت صناعة النفط والقيادة المثالية للشيخ زايد بن سلطان آل نهيان تلوحان في الأفق. وُلد الشيخ زايد حوالي عام 1918 في أبوظبي، وكان أصغر الأبناء الأربعة للشيخ سلطان، حاكم أبوظبي من 1922 إلى 1926. ولما بلغ الشيخ زايد سن الرشد، سافر كثيراً عبر البلاد وبذلك تحصَّل على تفهم عميق للبلد ولشعبها. وفي أوائل الثلاثينات من القرن العشرين عندما وصلت فرق شركات النفط لإجراء مسوح جيولوجية أولية، اكتسب الشيخ زايد خبراته الأولية في هذا المجال الصناعي، مما وضع حجر الأساس للتطور الحالي.

وفي عام 1946، اختير الشيخ زايد بن سلطان ممثلاً للحاكم في المنطقة الشرقية لإمارة أبوظبي والمتمركزة في العين والتي تقع على بعد 160 كم شرقاً من جزيرة أبوظبي. حيث كان يتمتع برؤية ثابتة لقيم الاستشارة والاتفاق وكانت أحكامه "تتميز بالحصافة والحكمة والعدالة".

تم تصدير أول شحنة من النفط الخام من أبوظبي في العام 1962، وفي 6 أغسطس/آب عام 1966 خلف الشيخ زايد أخيه الأكبر في حكم إمارة أبوظبي. وعلى الفور زاد التبرعات المقدمة إلى صندوق التنمية لإمارات الساحل المتصالح، ومع ارتفاع العائدات الناتجة عن زيادة إنتاج النفط قام الشيخ زايد بتنفيذ برنامج مكثف لبناء المدارس والمساكن والمستشفيات والطرق.

وحينما بدأت إمارة دبي في تصدير إنتاجها النفطي في العام 1969 قام الشيخ راشد بن سعيد آل مكتوم، الذي كان حاكماً لدبي منذ العام 1939، باستخدام عائدات النفط في تحسين مستوى معيشة شعبه. 


الاتحاد

عندما أعلن البريطانيون في مطلع العام 1968 عن نيتهم في الانسحاب من الخليج العربي بنهاية العام 1971 تصرف الشيخ زايد بسرعة من أجل توثيق العلاقات مع الإمارات الأخرى وبمساندة من الشيخ راشد، الذي كان سيصبح نائب الرئيس ولاحقاً رئيس الوزراء للدولة التي كان قد تم تشكيلها حديثاً، قاد الشيخ زايد الدعوة إلى إقامة اتحاد لا يشمل فقط الإمارات السبع التي شكلت الإمارات المتصالحة بل يضم أيضاً قطر والبحرين.

وبعد فترة من المفاوضات تم التوصل إلى اتفاقية بين حكام الإمارات الست ( أبوظبي، دبي، الشارقة، أم القوين، الفجيرة، عجمان)، وأعلن عن قيام دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة بشكل رسمي في الثاني من ديسمبر/كانون الأول عام 1971 برئاسة الشيخ زايد. أما الإمارة السابعة وهي رأس الخيمة فقد انضمت إلى الاتحاد الجديد بشكل رسمي في العاشر من فبراير/شباط عام 1972م وتم انتخاب الشيخ زايد من قبل رفاقه الحكام مرة أخرى كأول رئيس لدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، حيث كان يجدَد له هذا المنصب كل خمس سنوات حتى تاريخ وفاته بعد 33 عاماً في نوفمبر/تشرين الثاني 2004. 

خلف الشيخ زايد كرئيس لدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة وكحاكم لإمارة أبوظبي أكبر أنجاله صاحب السمو الشيخ خليفة بن زايد آل نهيان عام 2004. وإن الأصول والمبادئ والفلسفة التي أتي بها الشيخ زايد إلى الحكومة بقيت ومازالت هي الركيزة الأساسية للدولة وجوهر سياساتها في الوقت الراهن، وتم انتخاب صاحب السمو الشيخ محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم، حاكم دبي، كنائب الرئيس للاتحاد بعد رحيل شقيقه الشيخ مكتوم عام 2006. 

الموقع الجغرافي:  تقع دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة على طول الشريط الجنوبي الشرقي لشبه الجزيرة العربية بين خطي العرض 22 ̊ و26,5 ̊ شمالاً وخطي الطول 51 ̊ و56,5 ̊ شرقاً، حيث تحدها قطر من الشمال الغربي، وتحدها المملكة العربية السعودية من الغرب والجنوب والجنوب الشرقي، وسلطنة عُمان من الجنوب الشرقي والشمال الشرقي. وتشغل دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة مساحة 83,600 كيلومتراً مربعاً (32,400 ميلاً مربعاً) وهي تعادل تقريباً مساحة البرتغال، وتمتد دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة على شريط ساحلي طوله 700 كيلومتراَ، منها 600 كيلومتراً على الخليج العربي و100 كيلومتراً على خليج عُمان.

 

تتكون دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة من سبع إمارات: 

  • أبوظبي
  • دبي
  • الشارقة
  • عجمان
  • أم القيوين
  • رأس الخيمة
  • الفجيرة

 

شهدت دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة منذ إنشائها تطوراً اقتصادياً متسارعاً وملحوظاً، الأمر الذي يصعب التوصل إليه حتى في أكثر المجتمعات المتقدمة/ فسرعان ما نجحت في تعظيم الربح والمنافع الواردة من عائدات النفط الهائلة من أجل الوفاء بمتطلبات المجتمع الأساسية.

وقليل من الناس اعتقد بأن جهود الإمارات العربية المتحدة لتطوير الصناعة السياحية كانت ستنجح بمثل هذه الفترة القياسية من الزمن.

أما أولئك الذين كانوا على دراية بما تمتلكه الإمارات العربية المتحدة من ثروات لتعرضها على الزوار فلم يتفاجأوا بهذا التقدم البارز والسريع في مجال السياحة. وقد أثبتت السياحة حقاً أنها صناعة مستدامة مع إمكانيات نمو طويلة المدى.

إن الاستثمار في البنى التحتية في مجال إقامة المطارات والفنادق والمرافق الأخرى يعني بأن زوار الإمارات على يقين بأنهم سوف يحظون بسفر مريح، واستقبال حار، وسكن ذو جودة عالية. وبالإضافة إلى الجاذبية الطبيعية للمنطقة العربية والتي تتميز بتاريخها العريق وثقافتها وبيئتها، فإن السياح يستفيدون الآن من مناخها الدافئ والمشمس ويستمتعون بعدد من النشاطات الترفيهية كركوب الجمال والخيل في الصحراء والغوص في أعماق البحر.